BEFORE THE
DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATION
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Appeal of:
OAH No. 2013090974
GARY CROCKER,

~ Appellant.

PROPOSED DECISION

This matter was heard by Administrative Law Judge Coren D. Wong, Office
of Administrative Hearings, State of California, on December 31, 2013, in
Sacramento, California.

Appellant Gary Crocker appeared at hearihg and was represented by
Christine Rose, his authorized representative, pursuant to California Code of
Regulations, title 9, section 7227.2, subdivision (g)(3).

Attorney Matthew W. Kruse represented respondent Department of
Rehabilitation (Department), State of California.

Evidence was received, and the record was left open for the parties to submit
simultaneous closing and reply briefs. On January 29, 2014, the parties submitted
their respective closing briefs, which are marked as Exhibits 11 (appellant’s) and H
(Department’s). The Department also filed a proposed stipulation, which is
marked as Exhibit I. On February 12, 2014, the parties submitted their respective
reply briefs, which are marked as Exhibits 12 (appellant’s) and J (Department’s. )

The record was closed and the matter submitted for decision on February 12,
2014.! -

' On February 13, 2014, appellant filed a response to the Department’s reply
brief without leave of court. That response was not considered, as it was untimely.



SUMMARY

On July 11, 2013, the Department issued an invoice charging appellant a late
. fee for submitting a monthly operating report late. Appellant requested an
evidentiary hearing challenging that invoice on July 22, 2013. The Department
denied appellant’s request as untimely because the regulation he was challenging
was promulgated more than 30 days prior to the date of his request. The sole issue
to be decided is whether appellant’s request for hearing was in fact untimely.
While appellant may have expressed his dissatisfaction with the applicable
regulation in his request for hearing, he ultimately was challenging the application
of that regulation to him, an action taken by the Department within the 30 days
immediately preceding his request. Therefore, appellant is entitled to an
evidentiary hearing.

FACTUAL FINDINGS

1.  Appellant is a vendor in the Business Enterprises Program for the

- Blind (BEP), a federal and state program that provides remunerative employment
and economic opportunities for blind persons that was created by the Randolph-
Shepherd Act (20 U.S.C. § 107 et seq.) and is administered in California by the
Department.

2. Asavendor in the BEP, appellant is required to submit Monthly
Operating Reports (MOR) to the Department’s Accounting Section, along with the
requisite set-aside and insurance fees, each month. The MOR and fees are due by
the 25th day of the following month for which they apply. A vendor who submits
his MOR and fees late is subject to a late penalty.

3. Appellant submitted his March 2013 MOR 30 days late. Therefore,
onJuly 11, 2013, the Department’s Accounting Section issued him an invoice in
the amount of $341.55, the late fee the Department’s Accounting Section
determined appellant owed for submitting his March 2013 MOR late.

4. On July 22, 2013, appellant sent the Department’s chief counsel an e-
mail stating, in pertinent part, the following:
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Request for a Full Evidentiary Hearing

[93...110

Ms. Hargreaves, your office is receiving this grievance
today due to a notice I received from the Departments’
[sic] Accounting Section on 15 July 2013. This notice,
dated 11 July 2013, indicates that I owe a late penalty fee
of 341.55 dollars [sic] because my March 2013 Monthly
Operating Report was received late by the department.
This penalty amount is based on a 15% month after
month penalty assessment as stipulated in Section 7221
of the programs [sic] regulations. Please see invoice
number B 5464 currently on file with the Departments’
[sic] Accounting Section. The fact that my March 2013
MLR was received late is not a point of contention in this
grievance. It was sent 30 days late and this was surely
received late by the department.

(91 1]

Ms. Hargreaves, the purpose of this grievance is to
convey my dissatisfaction with the department’s policies
or more specifically, with the program’s regulations
stated above requiring BEP vendors to pay a 15%, month
after month, assessed penalty fee on all late payments
due to the set aside [sic] fund. This 15% month after
month penalty fee is equivalent to an annual interest rate
of 180%. In the lawful world, or should I say, only in the
unlawful world are crooked loan sharks able to demand
interest rates of this extreme nature. Not even the most
questionable credit card issuers are allowed to charged
[sic] rates this excessive under the laws of the federal
government.

... 1]

After giving this a great deal of thought, I decided to do
some research in this area. Here’s what I found out about



interest rates on loans or forbearance of any monies,
goods, or things in action, or on accounts after demand.

These issues are addressed in our state’s constitution
under article 15 Usury. I believe that the Department of
Rehabilitation is violating my rights, as well as the rights
of all licensed offenders of this program, under article 15
of the California constitution [sic]. The following

excerpt is found in the state’s constitution [sic]. the [sic]
opening paragraph as well as item (2) of the article seem
to state that only a maximum of 10% interest rate can be
charged on an annual basis for money, goods, or things in
action, or on accounts after demand.

(Emphasis original.)

5. On August 2, 2013, the Department responded to appellant’s demand
as follows:

Dear Mr. Crocker: I have received your request for a full
evidentiary hearing. You indicated that you do not
dispute that you submitted a late monthly operating
report, or the calculations, but are dissatisfied with the
regulation. I am not able to forward your request for a
hearing to the Office of Administrative Hearings because
the action that you have disputed is not something done
within the past 30 working days.

The conditions for a full evidentiary hearing, including
that the action disputed must be within the past 30
working days, are in [sic] regulation that was developed
by the CVPC.

The regulation that you are contesting is a regulation that
was promulgated years ago in consultation with CVPC.
The Office of Administrative Law and the U.S.
Department of Education Secretary approved the
regulation in 2010 [sic] although the specific late fee may
have been in regulation for years before that time.
Therefore, your request is not timely. Even if your



dispute was timely, an administrative law judge has no
authority to strike down a regulation which has the effect
of law. Taking your ideas to the CVPC and the DOR
which could amend the regulation, and the DOR then
taking steps through the Office of Administrative Law, is
the only way to change the regulation.

LEGAL CONCLUSIONS

Applicable Law -

L.

California Code of Regulations, title 9, section 7221, subdivision (a)
states the following regarding the filing of an MOR with the Department:

Vendors operating a Business Enterprises Program for
the Blind, hereafter BEP, vending facility shall pay a set-
aside fee into the Vending Facility Trust Fund.

(1) Payment of the set-aside fee shall be made monthly
based on the net proceeds, as defined in Welfare and
Institutions Code section 19629(d) of the vending facility
for the preceding month. The fees shall not exceed 6
percent of the monthly gross sales, and the vendor may
determine if he or she shall pay 6 percent of the monthly
gross sales or use the BEP established set-aside fee
schedule that has been approved by the Rehabilitation
Services Administration to determine the set-aside fees to
be paid. When using the set-aside schedule, the fees

shall not exceed 6 percent of the monthly gross sales.

(2) Payment of the set-aside fee shall be made to the
Department of Rehabilitation, Vending Facility Trust
Fund, Accounting Section, P.O. Box 944222,
Sacramento, California, 94299-9222. Payment of the fee
shall be accompanied by the completed DR 478,
Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report (Rev. 07/07),
incorporated by reference herein. The income and
expenses of each vending facility shall be reported using
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a DR 478, Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report (Rev.
07/07).

2. California Code of Regulations, title 9, section 7221, subdivision (c),

provides the following regarding the due date for MORs:

The DR 478, Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report (Rev.
07/07), set-aside fee and payment for liability and
workers’ compensation insurance either must be received
by the Department of Rehabilitation Accounting Section
or postmarked by the 25th day of the month following
the month being reported, in accordance with subdivision
(a)(2) of this section. When the 25th day of the month
falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a holiday, the DR 478,
Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report (Rev. 07/07) and the
set-aside fee, shall be considered timely if postmarked on
the following business day pursuant to Government Code
section 6706.

3. Any vendor who submits his MOR and requisite fees late is subject to

a late penalty as follows:

(1) A penalty not to exceed either 15 percent of the late
set-aside charge or $75, whichever is greater, shall be
‘assessed against a vendor for each month that the DR
478, Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report (Rev. 07/07) or
set-aside fee is late when one or more of the following
conditions occur:

(A) Set-aside fees or the DR 478, Vendor’s Monthly
Operating Report (Rev. 07/07), or both, are not received
pursuant to subsection (c) herein.

(B) The set-aside fee shall be considered past due if
some of the amount owed is received, but the
accompanying payment is incorrect and less than the
amount that is due in accordance with the DR 478,
Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report (Rev. 07/07)
submitted for that month.



(C) The set-aside fee shall be considered past due if
payment is made by check, and the check is returned for
insufficient funds.

(D) The DR 478, Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report
(Rev. 07/07), shall be considered past due, if it is not
signed by the vendor or the vendor does not use the DR
478, Vendor’s Monthly Operating Report (Rev. 07/07)
adopted by the Department.

(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 9, § 7221, subd. (c).)

4. Avendor in the BEP has a right to a full evidentiary hearing
challenging an action taken by the Department as follows:

Licensees or vendors who are dissatisfied with an action
of the Department arising from licensing, selection as a
vendor, termination or suspension of a license or vendor
operating agreement, probation, or administration of the
BEP may request a full evidentiary hearing before a
hearing officer. All requests for a full evidentiary
hearing shall:

(1) Be made within 30 working days of the action with
which the licensee or vendor is dissatisfied, or within the
time frame specified in Section 7227.1(e) of these
regulations, if the licensee or vendor elected to
participate in the administrative review process. In cases
involving the suspension or termination of licensure or
probation, the date of the action shall be deemed to be
two days after the date the Department mails the written
notice of proposed action specified in Section 7213.1 of
these regulations.

(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 9, § 7227.2, subd. (a).)
Conclusion

5. As discussed above, on July 11, 2013, the Department issued
appellant an invoice charging him a late fee for submitting his March 2013 MOR



late. Appellant requested an’ ev1dent1ary hearmg challenglng the invoice on July
22,2013, just 11'days after’it was isstied. 'While the Department i is correct that
appellant cannot challenge the constitutionality of California Code of Regulations,
title 9, section 7221 (Cal. Const., art. 111, § 3.5; see, Hand v. Board of Examiners
(1977) 66 Cal. App:3d'605; 617- 619), ‘his- request for hearmg challenges the manner
in which that regulatlon was applied'to him: Therefore the ’Department

improperly denied: h1m an ev1dent1ary hearmg N '

ORDER

Appellant Gary Crocker’s appeal of the Department of Rehabilitation’s
denial of his requiest for a full ey’.i‘dentfary hearrn‘g"'is GRANTED a

DATED: February 14, 2014 R

I @RﬁN E—/"WONG
Administrative Law Judge
““Office of Administrative Heari ngs



